Home > Nutrition > Finding Inspiration

Finding Inspiration

July 16, 2012

One important piece of my weight loss journey, that I must admit has fallen by the wayside in recent months, is finding some inspiration that I can, in fact, do this.  The best way to prove to myself that I can lose this weight and live a healthy life, is to look at people who have already walked this path.  Reading other blogs is a great way to stay on track, and watching the Today Show’s weekly “Joy Fit Club” where people have lost more than 100 pounds is also great inspiration.  My favorite way to do that this summer is by watching Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition on ABC.

If you haven’t seen this show before, Chris Powell, my future husband a trainer with more compassion and caring than anyone I have ever seen, takes someone who is morbidly obese, and transforms their mind and body over a full year.  Chris, in addition to being ridiculously good looking, has an absolute heart of gold and infectious spirit.  Yes, I have a bit of a crush, and I was devastated to learn he is married with children.  Sigh…oh well.

What’s truly amazing, though, is seeing someone who weighs so much more than I ever have, take themselves in just a year and transform into someone who typically weighs much less than I do.  This week’s episode had a lesson that hit particularly close to home for me.  It is the idea that you can’t wait for life to be perfect in order to eat right and exercise.  Life will never be perfect, and even when it is, tumult may be right around the corner.  So long as you make your efforts dependent upon other aspects of your life being in order, you’re actually sabotaging yourself.

I fell into this trap over the past couple of years.  Work was too busy, I was under too much stress, etc.  My nutritionist tried to tell me I had to learn to live with that and still make progress.  I thought she didn’t understand.  Then I saw Nyla, the star of this week’s episode of Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition, offering the same excuses to Chris.  It’s easier to see the rationale as an excuse in someone else, and it helped hold a mirror to me in this particular area.

Congratulations to Nyla – she lost over 150 pounds!!!  I can lose these first 25 I want to lose by my birthday in late October, and then the 35 or more I’d like to ultimately lose after that.  I’m no different than she is, and life will no doubt have some bumps in the road, but I’m going to do this anyway.  How do you find inspiration to stay on track?

