Home > General, Nutrition > Losing Weight with Ice Cream Sandwiches

Losing Weight with Ice Cream Sandwiches

July 29, 2012

A daily portion controlled treat can help avoid feelings of deprivation and make it easier to eat healthily for the long term.

Okay – so I will admit that the title of this blog post is somewhat misleading.  Eating a bunch of ice cream sandwiches is NOT going to help you lose weight.  However, I do have one every day, and I firmly believe it’s helping me lose weight and stay on track with my healthy eating plan.  But more on that in a minute…

First, this marks week two of my rededicating my efforts to healthy living and weight loss, and Friday was my second weekly weigh in.  My weight this week: 253.1 pounds.  That continues my losing trend, and is a loss of 1.1 pounds from last week.  That’s now 5.5 pounds I’ve lost since restarting this journey earlier this month, and about 62 pounds down from what I estimate to be my highest weight sometime in 2010.

If I’m being honest, I was a little disappointed about my loss this week.  I upped my exercise over last week, stayed strong with my diet, and generally did well.  I was hoping for a bigger loss.  But I remember from the bulk of my weight loss a couple of years ago that this is how it often goes, a week of big loss, followed by a week of a much smaller loss, stagnant weight, or maybe even a small gain.  That seems to be how my body works.  Plus, with less weight to lose now, I have to accept that the rate at which I lose is going to be a little slower than it was before.

On the positive side, I’m still heading in the right direction, and I’m confident I’ll meet my first goal of reaching 235 by my birthday in late October, slowly but surely!  One element of my eating plan now, as it was a couple of years ago, that my nutritionist suggested and that greatly helps me stick to my plan, is that I get a treat every night of my choosing.  It can be anything I want, so long as it’s no more than 150 calories.

So far this time around, my go to treat is a Mayfield Ice Cream Sandwich, which just happens to be – you guessed it – exactly 150 calories!  Thank you Mayfield dairy cows for giving me something so delicious to fit my plan!  Seriously, I think this is one of the real keys to my previous and current weight loss.  By having this portion controlled treat within boundaries to look forward to each day, I’m truly not cutting anything out of my diet completely, and I don’t feel as if I’m depriving myself.  For the summer, the ice cream sandwiches have been perfect!

A couple of other 150 calorie treats I’ve used lately are having 3 miniature York peppermint patties, or having a 100 calorie bag of microwave popcorn with one of the York peppermint patties (giving me a portion and calorie controlled version of my favorite movie theatre flavor combination of popcorn and junior mints).  What are your creative ideas for 150 calorie treats?  Do you allow yourself a treat each day while you’re losing weight?

