Home > Exercise, General > Eff You, Metabolism!

Eff You, Metabolism!

September 24, 2012

Atlanta’s Oakland Cemetery – Location of my “Run Like Hell 5K” next month! And site of a beautiful early autumn walk I took yesterday.

So…  I’m still losing weight, but the rapidity with which the pounds are coming off has slowed.  I’m so pleased with my progress, and I’m not in any way about to give up, but the past couple of weeks have been a little frustrating.  This past Friday, I weighed in at 239.4 pounds.  That’s a .2 pound loss from the week before, 19.2 pounds down since I restarted in July, and about 76 pounds down from my estimated highest weight of 315 a few years ago.  Two-tenths of a pound.  Ho-hum.

As my nutritionist reminded me today, once the first 15-20 pounds come off, your metabolism gets nice and comfy cozy again.  Ugh.  And the solution?  To increase exercise to get the metabolism back in gear.  Double ugh.  If I’m being honest, I’d have to admit that I’ve gone a little bit soft on my exercise the past couple of weeks. Instead of three or four challenging jogs, I think the past two weeks I’ve only done two – and allowing myself to take a more leisurely walk to do something else I wanted to do (like go to the mall).

Yesterday, I really wasn’t feeling exercise.  It was gorgeous outside, and that should have been motivation enough, but I was honestly just feeling lazy.  If it hadn’t been for a couple of nice compliments about my weight loss at church yesterday morning, I probably would have skipped it altogether.  But between those and the weather, I decided to get out and do something.  Instead of going home and changing into workout clothes and going for a hard jog, though, I went in the jeans I already had on to Atlanta’s beautiful Oakland Cemetery (see photo above) to enjoy the weather.  Oakland is the site of my 5K next month, and it’s truly a magical place.  My walk wasn’t exactly leisurely, but it really wasn’t strenuous either.  Just another version of my mall walk last week to get my pretzel to be honest.

Don’t get my wrong – exercising in this way is better than nothing… But I’m not satisfied.  I want to continue my progress at a decent clip, and I’m realizing this is truly a make or break time in this phase of my journey.  I can sit back and get complacent, or I can redouble my efforts, working particularly hard at exercise, the less fun part of the equation for me, and truly give my metabolism the finger!  So that’s what I’m going to do.  Look out slowing metabolism – you’re in my cross-hairs!

  1. September 25, 2012 at 7:50 AM

    Get at it! Metabolism is nasty b*tch, and needs to be put in it’s place!

  2. September 27, 2012 at 11:23 AM

    I’ve been locked at 211 forever. A couple weeks ago it dipped down but that was only after a vicious 2 weeks of exercise. Now it’s back up but I’m exercising half as much. So much work. We’ll get there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
