Home > Exercise, Nutrition > Busting Plateaus

Busting Plateaus

September 30, 2012

The past couple of week’s weigh-ins, while headed in the right direction, have been a little underwhelming.  So this past week, I decided it was time to bust through this plateau in a mach three with my hair on fire kind of way.  I’ll tell you what that looked like in a minute, but first things first, what were the results?

Last week, I weighed in at 239.4 pounds.  This week…drumroll, please…I was down to 235.7 pounds!!!!!!!  That’s a 3.7 pound loss from last week, 22.9 pounds lost since July, and almost 80 pounds lost from my estimated highest weight of 315!!!  I couldn’t be more pleased.  In the summer of 2010, I had gotten down to 235.2, and my initial goal this go-round was to reach 235.0 before my birthday in late October.  I think it’s safe to say at this point that I will surpass that goal!  So my new goal is to reach 215 pounds, another 20 pounds lost, and what will mark a 100-pound total loss from my starting weight, by New Year’s.  That’s a tall order, no doubt, with the holidays thrown in, but I’m going to shoot for it, and be gentle with myself if I come up a little short, but hopefully it will keep me from giving myself carte blanche to eat anything over the holidays (though I will be enjoying myself in moderation).

So how did I break through this plateau?  The easy answer is “diet and exercise,” but the more nuanced answer is that I know what works for me.  I’ve always found that if I really hit a slow spot in my weight loss, I can take a day to eat what I want (not going hog-wild with a binge, but maybe enjoying some french fries, a dessert, a pancake breakfast, etc.), and then getting back to super-healthy eating the next day.  I’m not recommending you do this, but it seems to work for me.  My lay person’s vision of what’s going on is this:

Me: Dang…  My weight loss is creeping.  What the hell?

My Body:  You say, “What the hell?!”  say, “What the hell?!!!”  You used to give me all kinds of good stuff to eat.  We’ve been gettin’ nuthin for weeks now!  Inhumane.  It must be some kinda famine or something! Screw this – we could need this fat later on, idgit.  I’m keeping it!

Me: Hmmm…  I’m sorry you feel that way, boo, but it’s for our own good.

My Body:  Whatever, dumbass. [pouting and being bratty by holding onto the weight]

Me: [Silently smirks, deciding to trick my bratty body into cooperation.  Eats a biscuit with jam and orange juice I normally wouldn’t have for breakfast and a chinese dinner with a fried eggroll for dinner, and a frozen yogurt for dessert]

My Body:  Woooooooo-Frikkkkkkin’-Hooooooo!!!!!!  You’re ba-aaaack!!!!  Awesome!!!

Me: Mmhmm…  Sure…  Whatever you say.  [Silently increases exercise and goes back to cooking at home and super healthy eating the next week.]

My Body: Yum.  I guess we’re not starving, after all.  I guess I can let go of some more of this fat.  Seems to keep him feeling better, and he did give me the eggroll and all…

So that’s pretty much what went down.  I think.  This coming week should be pretty standard.  I’ll post a quick update next weekend, but I’ll be enjoying a nice weekend away that I’ll tell you more about later!  It could be slightly challenging nutritionally, but I’m going to try to indulge in some favorites and moderate it with decent eating and some exercise, too.  More to come!

  1. September 30, 2012 at 7:11 PM

    Congrats on your progress! I agree, a reasonable cheat day can do wonders. When I was on Nutrisystem they encouraged it as well. Once a week I think they said. My problem is five or six cheat days at a time. Lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
